World's Oldest Bass Tournament Founded in 1955



Inducted Into the Texas

    Freshwater Fishing

  Hall-of-Fame in 2016.

(Click HOF Trophy for Film)



cover dec05


 Tournament Director
Sam Scroggins



“Legends of the Texas State Bass Tournament”

On Sunday May 3, 1998, during the weigh-in ceremonies of the 43rd Annual Texas State Bass Tournament at Toledo Bend, Earl Golding named thirteen individuals as the first inductees to the Texas State Bass Tournament Hall of Fame. Since that time an additional thirty-six men and women have been inducted by the Texas State Bass Tournament Committee into this family of “Tournament Legends”. Each of these individuals was selected based on excellence in competition, or years of outstanding volunteer service, and as result served as true ambassadors to the Texas State Bass Tournament. Each year new Legends will be added this Hall of Fame.

Listed below is the current Hall of Fame members and their year of induction:

1998 Inductees - Toledo Bend
John Barns, Dallas
Gus Bierman Jr., Fort Worth
Donna Bowling, Mansfield
Ray Creel*, Keene
Joe Harris*, Huntington
Jackie Hewlitt*,Austin
Bob Hood, Fort Worth
Carl Knox, Arlington
Johnny Mayes*, Austin
Floyd Mabry, Belton
Mike Murski, Dallas
Jerry Nichols, Bedford
Dale Rabe, Arlington
1999 Inductees Sam - Rayburn
Hoyt Fincher, Fort Worth
Earl Golding, Waco
Ray Murski, Dallas
Fred McBurney*, Mabank
Faye Simmons, Arlington (Formerly Chandler, TX)
Barry Stegall, Portland
2000 Inductees - Toledo Bend
Martha Golding, Waco
Mike McBurney, Jupiter, FL (Formerly Tyler)
Tom Butler, Fort Worth
Cecil Dresendorfer, Houston
Dr. Bill Shelton, Lufkin
J.D. Sims*, Grand Prairie
2001 Inductees - Amistad
Tommy Simmons*, Chandler
Roy Grammar, Longview
Bobby Murray, Fort Worth
Jim Brown*, Mansfield
Patsy Rabe, Arlington
2002 Inductees - Toledo Bend
Jacki Barcroft, Emory
Bill Boyd, Colleyville
Al Fowler*, Livingston
Ronnie Poe, Fort Worth
Jim Saxton, Houston
2003 Inductees - Richland Chambers
Lonnie Fuller, Hemphill
Donna Poe, Fort Worth
Leonard Watson, Burleson

2004 Inductees - Toledo Bend
Gary Barcroft, Emory
Jim Poole, New Braunfels
Jimmy "Hoss" Murray*, Falcon Heights

2005 Inductees - Sam Rayburn
Wendell Bond, Burleson
Lindy Ellason, HoustonJersey Village
Mary Fuller*, Dallas
Larry Ledbetter, Fort Worth
Charlie McFarland, Burleson
Clarence Steward, Fort Worth
Bill Wicheta, Austin
Tom Wicheta, Austin

2006 Inductees - Sam Rayburn
Billy Keener, Winnsboro
Dick Murray, Aledo
Danny Reaves, Shelbyville
2007 Inductees - Amistad
Buddy Pannill, Fort Worth,
Emily Shelton, Lufkin.

2008 Inductees - Sam Rayburn
Edith Arnold - Lufkin
Ed Parten - Kingwood
Jarred Poole - San Antonio
Gerald Robbins - Dallas

2009 Inductees - Toledo Bend
David Holder - Spring
Wiley & Martha Collins - Arlington
Sue Langley & Lisa Rabe - Kennedale

2010 Inductees - Sam Rayburn
John & Emma Boutté - Burleson
Gary Alexander - Burleson
Charles Mitchell* - Arlington

2011 Inductees - Toledo Bend
Linda Washmon - Milam
Jack Washmon - Milam
Leonard M. Spolyar Houston
Charlie Stone - Fort Worth/Colorado

2012 Inductees - Sam Rayburn Reservoir
Laurel Ledbetter - Joshua
William & Anna Polster - Riesel

2013 Inductees - Toledo Bend
Charles L. McNeely Sr - Brookeland, TX
Charlie Wright - Arlington

2014 Inductees – Toledo Bend
Freddy Bowling* - Mansfield
Eddie Toole - Hemphill
Gary Vick – Mansfield

2015 Inductees – Toledo Bend
Howard Lee Howard* - Uncertain
Darren Keener – Mayflower, AR
M. C. Sims – Yantis

2016 Inductees – Toledo Bend
Dan Davis – Winnsboro
Ruby & Allen Hendrickson – Houston
Bobby Smith – Lufkin

2017 Inductees – Toledo Bend
Norman Terry (Jacksonville) & Don Jones (Sandersville, GA) - Senior Team
Chance Mitchell (Burleson) & Tony Rogers (Arlington) - Team

* - Deceased at the Time of Induction